Terminating databases

Terminate databases that are no longer needed.

If a database has outlived its use, you can terminate it to reduce costs and streamline operations. When you terminate a database, all data is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
Note: If you have administrator privileges in the DataStax Constellation console for your team, you can contact DataStax to terminate databases that are owned by other team members. For example, if a team member leaves your organization and you want to delete their databases, contact DataStax with the names of the databases owned by that team member.

Procedure

  1. Open a browser, navigate to the DataStax Constellation console, and log in.
  2. From the Databases page, under Actions, click the ellipsis for the database you want to terminate and select Terminate.
    The Terminate Database window displays and indicates the estimated time required to terminate the database.
    Warning: All data in the database will be permanently deleted. You cannot restart the database. Proceed with caution.
  3. To terminate the database, click Terminate Database.

Results

The database is terminated and will be removed from the list of available databases. You can create another database, view database health and metrics for other databases, or connect to other databases to continue development.