Running a configuration job 

Run a configuration job that pushes configuration profile updates at the cluster, datacenter, or node level.

Synchronizing a managed cluster, datacenter, or node pushes a configuration profile or updates to configuration profiles to designated targets. When Lifecycle Manager pushes its version of a configuration, it overwrites any configuration changes that were not made within Lifecycle Manager. Running a configure job realigns configuration and ensures uniform configuration.

Note: If the version of DataStax Enterprise associated with a configuration profile being pushed differs from the installed version, the job fails. Version upgrades or downgrades of DataStax Enterprise are not supported within Lifecycle Manager.

Lifecycle Manager pushes configuration jobs to a single node at a time and restarts DataStax Enterprise on that node. For a newly added cluster, the very first install job runs on several concurrent nodes. The concurrency speeds the initial install process and is safe because the new cluster cannot serve clients until it has been installed for the first time. After that, install and configure jobs proceed one-node-at-a-time to ensure cluster availability. The job does not progress to the next node until the current node successfully restarts (that is, the node is responding on the native_transport_port). By default, the job gracefully stops prematurely if a job fails for a single node. Jobs that are already running on nodes are allowed to finish, but the job does not continue running on any remaining nodes for that job. Doing so prevents any potential configuration problems from bringing down multiple nodes, or even the entire cluster. If required, override this default behavior with the Continue on error option, which will attempt to run the job on all nodes, regardless of failure.

Prerequisites

Procedure

  1. Click Clusters in the Lifecycle Manager navigation menu.
  2. Select the cluster, datacenter, or node to run a configuration for.
  3. Click Configure from the drop menu.
    The Run Configuration Job dialog appears.

  4. Upon encountering an error on any given node, the job ceases running on additional nodes. Any nodes that are already running continue to completion. To override this default behavior, select Continue on error, which will continue running the job on subsequent nodes until all are finished.
  5. Optional: Enter a description about the job.
  6. Enter a password in the New DSE password box to replace the default password for the cassandra user.
  7. Click Submit.
    The job is submitted. A dialog informs you the job is in the queue to run.
  8. Click View Job Summary to navigate quickly to the Jobs page to monitor the job progress. Click Close if you do not want to immediately monitor the job and prefer to remain in the Clusters workspace.