Managing users and roles 

Manage users and role permissions visually through the OpsCenter UI.

Manage users and role permissions visually through the OpsCenter UI. Follow these instructions to manage users and roles in OpsCenter.

Note: When LDAP authentication is enabled, adding and editing users is disabled. Only role editing is available when LDAP is enabled.

OpsCenter supports all UTF-8 encoded characters for roles, usernames, and passwords.

Procedure

  1. Log in to OpsCenter as an admin. Click Settings > Users & Roles.
    The Users and Roles dialog appears.

  2. To add a user:
    1. Click Add User.
      The Add User dialog appears.

    2. Enter the username, password, and select a role for the user.
    3. Click Save.
  3. To edit a user:
    1. Click the Edit icon for the user you want to edit.
    2. To change the user's password, enter and confirm the new password, and click Save.
    3. To change the user's role, select the new role from the Roles list and click Save.
  4. To delete a user:
    1. Click the Delete icon for the user you want to delete and click Delete to confirm.
  5. To edit a role:
    1. Click Manage Roles.
      The Manage Roles dialog appears.

    2. To edit an already-existing role, click the Edit icon.
      The Edit Role dialog appears.



    3. Select the cluster to apply role permissions to.
    4. Select the options the user role has permissions for.
      Tip: Click Select All or Unselect All to quickly enable all or no permissions.
    5. Click Save. Repeat these steps to apply role permissions for each cluster.
      Note: All changes to roles and permissions are logged for security auditing purposes.
  6. To add a role and assign it to users:
    1. Click Add Role.
      The Add Role dialog appears.

    2. Enter the name of the role in Role Name, select the permissions from the appropriate feature check boxes, and click Save.
      By default, new roles do not have any permissions.
      Tip: Click Select All or Unselect All to quickly enable all or no permissions.
    1. In the Users dialog, click the Edit icon for the user you want to add to the role.
    2. In the Role list, select the role, and click Save.
    3. Edit the role to apply its permissions to each cluster as appropriate.
  7. To delete a role:
    1. Select the role you want to delete in the Manage Roles dialog.
    2. Click the Delete icon.