Cloning a configuration profile

Clone a configuration profile as a starting point for similar but differentiated configurations, to use for testing purposes, or when upgrading DSE.

Cloning a configuration profile copies its settings to a newly named profile, optionally allows the selection of a new DSE version, and provides feedback about defaults that have changed between the previous and the new DSE versions.

Clone a configuration profile as a starting point for similar but differentiated configurations to use for testing purposes or when upgrading DSE. Cloning a configuration profile is a prerequisite to upgrading a datacenter or node to a higher patch version within a major release series.

Procedure

  1. Click Config Profiles from the Lifecycle Manager navigation menu.

    Clone config profile

  2. Click the clone icon for the config profile you want to clone.
    The Clone Config Profile profile_name dialog appears.

    Clone Config Profile dialog in LCM

  3. Required: If you do not want to accept the default name that prepends clone to the name of the config profile being cloned, enter a Name for the config profile. The name must be unique.
  4. Required: Select a DSE version from DataStax Enterprise Version menu. If performing an upgrade, select a higher version to clone. Only DSE versions equal to or above the version of the profile being cloned are available.
  5. Click Clone.
    The Config Profiles page displays the notifications for settings that have changed between the DSE versions:
    • Newly introduced settings for a DSE version: The cloned config profile inherits the default value for the new setting if not changed before saving the cloned profile.
    • Updated default values for existing: The previous and new defaults are presented, in addition to any user-supplied value present in the source profile. If a user-supplied value was present and continues to be valid in the new DSE version, it is preserved in the cloned profile. If no user-supplied value was available, the cloned profile inherits the new default value. If the automatically made selections are not satisfactory, they can be manually modified during the cloning process or after saving the cloned profile.
    • Deprecated settings removed from the cloned config profile because they are no longer valid: The previous field and its default value are displayed in the notification.
  6. Click each profile notification to review it in context within its file.
    Note: Some notifications cannot highlight and scroll to the field, such as when a field is not showing because its parent is field is not enabled. Select the corresponding enabled field to review its settings.
    Clicking on the … allocate tokens... field message highlights the field location with an informational message.

    Validation notifications for clone config profiles LCM

  7. Adjust any settings as appropriate for your environment. As with all configuration profiles, cloned configuration profiles can also be edited after cloning.
  8. Click Save to save the cloned config profile along with any modifications you made. Clicking Cancel simply deletes any modifications you made to default settings; it does not cancel the cloning process. Simply edit or delete the cloned profile as you prefer.

What's next

  • If upgrading the DSE version, associate the cloned config profile with the datacenter or node being upgraded and run an upgrade job.
  • If the clone did not upgrade the DSE version and was for other purposes such as dev or test, associate the cloned config profile with the cluster, datacenter, or node and run an install job or run a config job as appropriate.