Using multiple regions

You can replicate data to multiple regions for high availability scenarios to ensure active-active applications failover models. Multiple regions also ensure application data availability for locality purposes with the added value of cost savings.

Because multiple regions will increase your billing, see Pricing and billing for more details.

Serverless databases

Multiple regions is available on only pay as you go and annual plans.

If you are adding multiple regions to your database, you can use each region only once. You cannot add the same region to the same database more than one time.

Add a new region to your database

  1. From you database Dashboard, select Add Region.

    db multiregion1
  2. Select your desired region from the dropdown menu of available.

    You can review your selected region and its cost below the dropdown menu.

    You can add only a single region at one time.

    db multiregion2
  3. Select Add Region to add the region to your database.

After you add the new region, your new region will show up in the list of regions on your database Dashboard. Your existing region status will change to Maintenance, but will still be available for operations.

db multiregion3

The information displayed on the Connect page for your database is region specific.

Delete a region from your database

The information displayed on the Connect page for your database is region specific.

Removing a region is not reversible. Proceed with caution.

  1. From you database Dashboard, select the overflow menu for the database you want to delete.

  2. Select Delete.

    db multiregion5
  3. Type "delete" in the text bar.

    db multiregion6
  4. Select Delete to delete your region.

    db multiregion7

Limitations

Lightweight transactions work for only a single-region datacenter.

If you original region is disconnected, schema changes are suspended and repairs do not run. If any regions are disconnected, the writes to those regions will not be forwarded.

While adding a new region, you cannot drop a table or keyspace and you cannot truncate a table.

If any region is not online, you cannot truncate a table.

Data sovereignty

Astra DB serverless replicates all data in the database to all of a database’s regions. By contrast, multiple keyspaces in Apache Cassandra® and DataStax Enterprise (DSE) allow a database to replicate some tables to a subset of regions. To achieve the same behavior as Cassandra or DSE, create a separate AstraDB instance that adheres to the necessary region restrictions. The database client will need to add a separate connection for the additional database and send queries to the appropriate connection depending on the table being queried.

Classic databases

If you are adding multiple regions to your database, you can use each region only once. You cannot add the same region to the same database more than one time.

Adding a region to your classic database

  1. Open a browser, navigate to DataStax Astra, and log in.

  1. On the Dashboard page, select the database name to access the Overview page for your selected database.

  1. Select Add Region.

  1. Select the region you want to add from the Add Region menu.

  1. Select Add.

  1. Confirm you want to add the region by selecting Confirm.

You’ll see a screen confirming the new datacenter region is being added. Once you add a region, a maintenance period starts that might take up to 30 minutes. Your database will have limited availability during this window. Some actions, such as viewing database connection details, might be unavailable until maintenance is finished.

Removing a region from your database

  1. Open a browser, navigate to DataStax Astra, and log in.

  1. On the Dashboard page, select the database name to access the Overview page for your selected database.

  1. Select Remove Region from the overflow menu for the region you want to remove.

  1. Enter your datacenter id, which is provided in the prompt.

  1. Select Remove region.

Removing a region is not reversible. Proceed with caution.

You’ll see a screen confirming the datacenter location will be removed. Once you remove a location, a maintenance period starts that might take up to 30 minutes. Your database will have limited availability during this window. Some actions, such as viewing database connection details, might be unavailable until maintenance is finished.