Cloning cluster data from clusters managed by the same OpsCenter instance 

Clone cluster data from one DSE cluster to another using the Restore Backup feature in OpsCenter. This workflow requires the source and target clusters to both be managed by the same OpsCenter instance.

Clone cluster data from one DSE cluster to another using the Restore Backup feature in OpsCenter. This workflow requires the source and target clusters to both be managed by the same OpsCenter instance.

Prerequisites

To clone the cluster data, there must be an existing backup of the cluster to a Local FS or an Amazon S3 location. See adding a backup location.

Note: Cloning encrypted tables to a different cluster does not work unless the encryption keys are identical, which is typically not the case.
Important: The Backup Service requires control over the data and structure of its destination locations. The AWS S3 bucket and the Local file system destinations must be dedicated for use only by OpsCenter. Any additional directories or files in those destinations can prevent the Backup Service from properly conducting a Backup or Restore operation.

Procedure

  1. Click the source cluster name > Services.
  2. Click the Details link for the Backup Service.
  3. In the Activity tab, click Restore Backup.

    The Restore from Backup dialog appears.

  4. In the Backups tab, select the backup that contains the data you want to clone and click Next.
  5. Select the tables included in the backup you want to restore. Click the keyspace name to include all the tables in the keyspace. Click All Keyspaces to restore all the keyspaces.

    To select only specific tables, expand the keyspace name and select the tables.

    Note: Keep the following caveats in mind when creating and restoring backups:
    • Restoring a snapshot that contains only the system keyspace is not allowed. There must be both system and non-system keyspaces, or only non-system keyspaces in the snapshot you want to restore.
    • Restoring a snapshot that does not contain a table definition is not allowed.
    • Restoring a snapshot to a location with insufficient disk space fails. The Restore Report indicates which nodes do not have sufficient space and how much space is necessary for a successful restore. For more information and tips for preventative measures, see Monitoring sufficient disk space for restoring backups.
  6. Under Location, select the target cluster for the restored data. Select a different cluster than the one that was backed up to clone the data to the cluster.
    The Location list is only available when there are multiple clusters and both clusters are managed by the same instance of OpsCenter.
  7. To remove the existing keyspace data before the data is restored, select Truncate/delete existing data before restore. This completely removes any updated data in the cluster for the keyspaces you are restoring.
  8. To prevent overloading the network, set a maximum transfer rate for the restore. Select Throttle stream throughput at ____ MB and set the maximum MB per second.
  9. Change the staging directory if necessary by setting the backup_staging_directory configuration option in address.yaml.
  10. Click Restore Backup.
  11. Click Start Restore to confirm when prompted.
    If the pre-restore checks detected schema differences that could not automatically be validated, the Restore Schema Validation dialog appears. Possible issues are listed and a comparison of the backup and current schema are presented side-by-side.

  12. Review the information to determine what adjustments if any need to be made to the current schema:
    • To rectify the schema issues and try the restore again afterward, click Cancel.
    • To proceed despite the schema mismatch, click Continue Restore.
      Warning: Attempting to restore a backup with an incompatible schema might result in corrupt or inaccessible data. Before forcing the restore, you might want to back up your current data.

Results

The details and progress of the restore operation are displayed in a progress dialog, and also appear in the Backup Activity of the target cluster. If you close the progress dialog, track the progress and status of the restore in the target cluster's Backup Activity section.

The progress and details of the restore operation are displayed in the Restore Report.