Deleting snapshot files
When taking a snapshot, previous snapshot files are not automatically deleted. You should remove old snapshots that are no longer needed.
The nodetool clearsnapshot command removes all existing snapshot files from the snapshot directory of each keyspace.
You should make it part of your back-up process to clear old snapshots before taking a new one.
-
To delete all snapshots for a node, run the
nodetool clearsnapshotcommand. For example:nodetool -h localhost -p 7199 clearsnapshotFor tarball installations, you must run this command from the
/resources/cassandra/bindirectory of your DSE installation.To delete snapshots on all nodes at once, run the
nodetool clearsnapshotcommand using a parallel SSH utility, such aspssh. -
To delete a single snapshot, run the
nodetool clearsnapshotcommand with the snapshot name:nodetool clearsnapshot -t <snapshot_name>The file name and path vary according to the type of snapshot. See
nodetool snapshotfor details about snapshot names and paths.