Defining DSE topologies

The Lifecycle Manager (LCM) topology consists of cluster, datacenter, and node models. LCM uses the topology for installing and configuring DataStax Enterprise (DSE) at these levels. When installing and configuring DSE clusters, the topology provides flexibility and powerful inheritance mechanisms.

The following table explains each topology status that can display in the LCM interface:

Topology status legend
Status Icon Description

Not run

lifecycleJobNotRun (red flag)

An install job has not been run on the topology. See running a job.

Import (unmanaged cluster)

lifecycleClusterUnimported (red plus sign)

An existing cluster is not being managed by Lifecycle Manager. Click Start Managing and follow instructions to automatically import the cluster topology.



The job ran successfully on a topology model (cluster, datacenter, or node).


lifecycleJobFailed (red universal no access symbol)

The job run on a topology model (cluster, datacenter, or node) failed. Investigate the issue by drilling into the job details. Try running the job again.

Was this helpful?

Give Feedback

How can we improve the documentation?

© 2024 DataStax | Privacy policy | Terms of use

Apache, Apache Cassandra, Cassandra, Apache Tomcat, Tomcat, Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, Apache Hadoop, Hadoop, Apache Pulsar, Pulsar, Apache Spark, Spark, Apache TinkerPop, TinkerPop, Apache Kafka and Kafka are either registered trademarks or trademarks of the Apache Software Foundation or its subsidiaries in Canada, the United States and/or other countries. Kubernetes is the registered trademark of the Linux Foundation.

General Inquiries: +1 (650) 389-6000,